Christmas hues

Having finished Harriet’s 6th birthday celebration, and also finished work today for the next few months at least, I’m now looking for the next thing to plan. Of course, there is the small addition which will be joining our family in the next few weeks, and planning for that is not yet complete, but I’ve also turned my mind to Christmas. As I’ll be home during the day in the lead up, I want the house to look and feel festive, with visitors, home baked goodies and festive cheer.

Step one. Choose a colour palette. I think I’m sold on these hues used in Martha Stewart’s modern festive hanging paper flowers. Now if only I can get these shipped to Australia in time…

What colours are you thinking of for Christmas? Traditional or a little different?

Modern Festive Hanging Paper Flowers

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas hues

  1. Lynne says:

    Every year I think that I will do something “different” in the way of a colour theme but then I pull out the decorations we have used over the years and it all becomes very traditional! The kids have spent Christmas in many different houses but the decorations are a constant and hold many memories…maybe now that they are older I can break out of the mould and be more “Vogue Living” with the Christmas decor rather than “scary Christmas grotto”!! 🙂

    • Sophie says:

      Agreed! See my response to @Trish. Do you think you can manage it, or will you get nostalgic when you pull them out of the box? I think Trish is right, it’s time for two trees. One for posterity, and one for Vogue.

  2. trish25 says:

    I’ve collected Christmas decorations over the past 20 years or so, choosing carefully so that they all go together – they are either red birds (cardinals, mostly, wooden bird houses or gold stars. There are a few variations on this theme (I got a dozen little red rocking horse ornaments on sale one year) but the colours are all either red or gold or just plain, pale wood. I like to think it looks Scandinavian. I would love to start a new tree from scratch, using silver and green and blue. I would keep the original tree, and just have two!

    • Sophie says:

      I’m the same as you and Lynne. Try to retheme every year to something “simple” but those traditional decorations are too hard to give up. I remember my mum and dad hanging my mangy clay star that I made at age 5 on the tree every year, and every year I felt so proud. Even at 39!

Leave a Reply

