Polka dot party

Harriet is turning 6 next week. She is so excited, and so am I. I simply love parties, and I have been planning this celebration for some time.

As I’m now 35 weeks pregnant, and our house is not big, we decided to outsource a party with her little friends this weekend, and have a family celebration on Wednesday night, her actual birthday. That means I get to plan two parties.

There is a fabulous new party place up the road, called Petit Atelier.

Since we moved into this area it has caught my eye every time I have driven past, so it seemed like an obvious place to start. Meaning “little studio” in French, Petit Atelier hosts birthday parties (and craft classes) where the little people can do one hour of craft and half an hour of eating and cake. Once I met the lovely Christina, it was a simple choice.

The best thing about Petit Atelier is that you can have as much or as little input as you want. I didn’t want to have the party at home, but I certainly wanted a say in the decor, food and theme. That was easy, I just dropped everything off to Christina the day before, and she took care of the rest.  So let me show you how it turned out.

Harriet and I decided on a pink polka dot theme, based around these gorgeous thank you tags designed by the talented Bridgett at Perideau Designs.

I popped fizzoes into these cute gumball machines from Pink Frosting, and the party favours were done. The rest followed pretty easily, starting with some customised invites from Tiny Prints.

As for the room, Christina set everything up.

The cups and the plates are from Sambellina, and the water bottles are just Aldi ones with the labels replaced with our home made ones. The retro paper straws came from Little Sooti.

Christina took care of the balloons and the centrepieces (*).

We brought in most of the food, including cake pops made by my lovely sister in law, jelly cups and a strawberry “6” birthday cake.

The customised Harriet stamp came from Sweet Style.

The cake was made by me, as is patently obvious by the construction flaw down the side. However, it was strawberry flavoured and they did like it.

Most importantly, my little girl had a fabulous time.

And came home with a little bird house for the front garden.

And I’ve still got energy to perfect some sugar biscuits to take to school on Wednesday and prepare for the Parisienne extravaganza on Wednesday night.

*  Don’t you love the grass bunnies? I think I need some for home. In fact, I have seen them in a local shop in a multitude of colours, perhaps I need a few.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Polka dot party

  1. Katharine says:

    Looks fab. And Harriet is looking so grown up!

  2. Nina says:

    What a lovely party idea. Harriet looks like she had a brilliant time. Craft and cake, what fun!!!
    Wish you were my mum. Hahahaha!

  3. trish25 says:

    Oh. My. Goodness. What a great party! One day can I come along to one of Harriet’s parties? I’ll be your photographer and I’ll do it just for the fun of it (and maybe for a lollybag).

    • Sophie says:

      Of course. October next year. The 7th. The current theme is Under the Sea. We are apparently having a joint party – I’m having seahorses and she’s having starfish and or jellyfish. I’m thinking aquas…

  4. Sophie says:

    BTW I spoke to Harriet. You are most welcome at her 7th. I think you won her over with the Eiffel tower cookie cutter.

Leave a Reply

