Been busy

Been busy of late. Work is busy. Home is busy. Life, in fact, is busy.

I’m so relieved that we’re heading away in just a few days, I’m not sure I could get through another routined week.

I dragged out the energy I had to finish some of the last projects I had started, because they were all intended for the trip and it seemed silly to waste all that initial effort and leave half finished items in the, well, half finished drawer.

So here we are.

Oliver & S bubble dress in double gauze cream cotton with self patterned cream pearl dots. Harri had shown great interest in a similar dress at Seed but  I couldn’t bring myself to buy it when I knew it was mass produced, and I had a whole bolt of this fabric at home.

It needed a lift, so I added these fantastic Swarovski crystal buttons which I got for a steal at the local button/bead shop which had all buttons at 75% off. I think they were about $1 – $2 each.

It still needs a lift at the front, but rather than beading, I’m thinking of something more along these lines.

Seed, yes. Let’s call it a compromise.

The rest is in the bag. First up, a bag for us for the beach. I’ve never, ever, been a fan of Hawaiian fabric, despite loving Hawaii. And to be frank, when this fabric was first released, I had no compulsion to purchase it. But when I thought about making a beach bag, well it seemed perfect. Aloha Queensland!

Firm denim straps for the handles, and striped denim / white lining, finished off with a magnetic snap closure. It’s not terribly big, but big enough for a ball, sunnies, hats, water and sandwiches.

And then a bag for Harri. I have had this pattern for ages (Melly and Me), literally a few years, and only just got around to making it. It’s pretty cute actually, but probably hasn’t come up as well in the photos.

Hoot is very sweet, with cashmere eyes in deep peach, and more Swarovski buttons for the pupils. Add a bit of Anna Maria Horner for the legs and beak…

And voila!

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Been busy

  1. Trish says:

    Gorgeous! You’re so clever.

    (Methinks this is not the first time I’ve said that)

  2. Millie says:

    The bubble dress is so sweet & adorable. Gosh you’re clever!
    Millie ^_^

Leave a Reply

