A bit of a copycat

A few weeks ago, we went to a fundraising ball, and I spent a good part of the night eyeing off the most fabulous dress. It was like this, only in a cream silk taffeta, and the shoulder ruffle was much more pronounced.

The woman wearing it was in her late 60s and looked magnificent. And it wasn’t only me who thought so, the camera man working the dance floor (for the big screen footage) focused a lot on her throughout the evening. Perhaps it was a camera woman. With great taste.

I’d love a dress like that for myself, but I rarely leave the house so the new adidas tracksuit is a treat enough for me. But then I thought it would be a good template for a summer dress for Harriet, and kids are much easier to draft patterns for.

I love this fabric from Hawthorne Threads. The colours are a bit unusual but work really well together (like another bundle of fabrics which arrived today from aforementioned shop!). I was just lucky to have this trim which lifts it a bit.

It took a bit of fiddling to get the armholes right, but the strap was a cinch. Just note that you’ll need three times the strap length if you want a really gathered shoulder. I could have finished it with a zip, but really couldn’t be bothered to try an invisible side zip, so opted for cross over back straps. I know I had sundresses like this as a kid.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in In The Round. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

