Happy Birthday, Phoebe.

17 years ago,  my friend Al and I were having coffee in the gardens of Gakushuin University, Tokyo. She was probably having a skim latte, in preparation for her first 10km competitive run. I was probably having a supersized latte, in preparation for developing the biggest arse known to man in the space of 12 months.

12 years later, in 2005, Al and I were both blessed to have our first child – me, Harriet and her, Liam. And one year ago, she and her gorgeous husband Frank welcomed little Phoebe into the fold.  That was not an easy journey, but things worked out well in the end, and their precious girl is now one!

Al and I have always shared a love of purple. But try as I might, I have struggled since this whole sewing thing began to find really decent purple fabric. Defeated on that front, I was still intent on making sure that Phoebe’s first birthday gift was not pink. So here we are.

I first sampled this tee design for the last range I produced, but in the end it was not going to be cost or time productive because the applique is fiddly (on stretch knit) and the buttons are sewn by hand. I’ve always loved apple trees – I think I drew hundreds of them as a kid.

Of course every tee needs a coordinating skirt. I wanted to keep it fairly simple, so contemplated just trimming the chambray denim with coordinating bias, but that was too plain for my liking and so I popped on a bit of my favourite red striped ribbon from here, to pick up on the red apples.

Happy Birthday, Phoebe.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

