What’s your BMI?

Yeah, I know, who cares. Well some people, apparently. In fact, our weight and our appearance is pretty fundamental to, well, everything these days.

Tonight’s post was going to be full of pretty photos of the sewing I’ve been doing of late, in anticipation of warmer weather and a trip up North. But I’ve been bugged by this Jennifer Hawkins / Lovable story, so I digress.

Now I confess I was a little irritated earlier this year when Jennifer Hawkins appeared rudie nudie on the cover of Marie Claire to “promote positive body image.” I don’t care that she’s thin and beautiful or on the cover of a magazine, but if it’s supposed to make us all feel a bit more normal, well it doesn’t work. I for one, am a little bit rounder in the bust than Jen.

But today outrage has erupted over Jen modelling for Lovable, with 25% of the proceeds going to the Butterfly Foundation. The criticism is that Jen is once more being used to make us all feel bad about ourselves, and that the BF’s endorsement of her is hypocritical.

Now, this is only my view, but the issues are very different. I don’t think her Marie Claire cover made many of us feel better about ourselves, because frankly most of us don’t look (anything) like her naked. But to suggest that because she has a beautiful body she can’t model lingerie because we’ll all feel bad about ourselves is silly. Most of us see models for what they are – beautiful people with unattainable bodies used to sell fashion. When they’re promoted as being like us (Marie Claire), annoyance ensues. But when they are just doing their job (Lovable), so be it.

I guess the thing that troubles me is that it is somehow hypocritical for the BF to support Jennifer and the Lovable campaign because Jennifer is slender. What is wrong with that? The BF is not against healthy, slender woman. Rather, it works tirelessly treat people afflicted with anorexia. Anorexia is a complex mental illness, not a decision to crash diet because of a desire to look like Jen in Lovable. If that were the case, you wouldn’t have 35kg women revolted by their “fat” appearance, you’d have them reaching Jen’s weight and being satisfied.

If you ask me, most of the annoyance with Jen and Lovable comes not from the honest view that she’s promoting a negative body image, but because the critics feel a vulnerability because of women like Jen. Today, the “average’ Australian woman (and I am guessing) is about a size 14-16, and instead of us accepting that we need to watch what we eat and get into a bit more exercise, we are leaning towards damning the beauties and promoting ourselves as the real norm. Now Jen’s not the norm, but nor are many Australian women, and I think we need to accept that.

I’m just saying.

(*) Let me say, I speak of myself here. Over the last year, I’ve packed on the weight, and hardly done a dollop of exercise. I’m not proud of how I look or feel, but blaming Jen for that ain’t gonna make me thinner. I need to get me mojo back, and start on making myself fit and healthy like I used to be. That way, I’ll be on the cover of Marie Claire next February.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s your BMI?

  1. pagona71 says:

    I met Jen about a year ago. In real life she’s a beautiful woman, tall and incredibly slender. BUT if she were my daughter Id be extremely concerned about her weight.

  2. Calico says:

    Great point. Australia is the fattest nation on earth and as we pack on the kilos we complain about slender women in the magazines. I too could lose a few kilos and eating chocolate all the days, seldom exercising and complaining about models is not going to help me.

Leave a Reply

