It went swimmingly.

We’re heading up North in 6 weeks, and so I’ve got beaches, sand, sun and swimwear on my mind.

The other day I splashed (pardon the pun) out and bought these swimmers. Husband took these shots of me wearing them.

I’m a little annoyed with myself. I absolutely adore them, but I think an equal motiviation behind their purchase was the desire to prove to the shop assistants on Toorak Road that I was not destitute. You see, I had last Monday afternoon off. The sun was shining, but rain was forecast, and I needed to get in some exercise. I had on a daggy dress with pink converse shoes, and for good measure popped on the red japara and started walking. I arrived at Toorak Road (sans handbag, because the loot was in my pocket) and started meandering along the shops. I was looked up and down by countless people, probably because I didn’t have the obligatory tight jeans, jacket and knee high boots with designer handbag and sunnies. So I walked into the swimwear shop and spent a week’s wage on the above.

So, that done, there is nothing now left in the budget for husband or child in the way of swimwear. Having made the leotard, I figured swimmers couldn’t be that hard, so sourced a bit of swimwear lycra from here and off I went.

Not bad.

But not great.

These are a little awkward without the right equipment, and by that I mean that my twin needle was a little wide for the elastic so where it hasn’t pierced it at the edges, there is some rolling. No, I haven’t photographed that bit.

All up, these are cheap. The pink ones were only $7, and the fabric is fabulous. The others were a little more, but only just. It’s just a matter of whether it’s worth the hassle, given I probably could  have gotten a decent pair online in a sale for $30.

Then again, would the reaction have been the same?

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It went swimmingly.

  1. Calico says:

    You look good in the swimshot shoot. James takes a good photo as well.

Leave a Reply

