Designs…by Harri J

Harriet is going to Millicent’s 5th birthday party tomorrow. A fairy party. But unlike the other fairy partys, this one has real fairy dust which makes you fly.

Harri’s dress ups are a bit tired (read filthy) and rather than fork out the $95 for a new fairy dress (I’ll never cease to be astounded by that price tag), I asked Harri to design something we could  make.

She came up with this.

Thanks for keeping it simple, pet.

I ventured off to Lincraft today, which is almost more hideous than Spotlight, but a necessary evil in this sewing world. Even when I got there and worked my way through what was, I concede, a very healthy range of lycra, spandex stretchy glittery fabrics, I was at a loss as to how I would work in silver, gold, apricot and fuschia. So at the last minute I canned the fuschia. There has to be some creative license for the sewer.

This was fun to make because it was challenging. I decided on a silver leotard with a gold wrap around skirt and apricot floral choker. The outfit is fitting for gymnast (in her third week of lessons).

The only major set back was starting on the leotard and discovering they’d put in two page 4s of the pattern and not page 3. Page 3 is basically the entire leotard, including zip insert and elasticising of armholes, legs and neck. So I improvised, skipped the zipper (which seemed silly for a leotard) and winged the elastic. It turned out alright, but next time I’ll try the elastic attachment on the overlocker and tighten it a bit for the legs (which doesn’t matter so much for this as she’s wearing it with a skirt).

The best part of this was using the wide twin needle from my Grandmother’s sewing kit which came when I inherited her sewing machine in 1997. She took such immaculate care of  her things, and her “stretch” needles were all appropriately labeled and stored. I’ve had a bit of use from this one, and felt buoyed using it to sew a leotard for the great granddaughter she would have so adored. I think Harri might jump a little higher as a result. Thanks, Mime.

I don’t really like apricot, particularly in our bathrooms, but I think Harri has quite an eye as it looks really pretty with the metallics. But most of all the designer is happy. As is her bff.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Designs…by Harri J

  1. Lynne says:

    Gymnastic lessons! Some private tuition from Indi may be in order! Love the outfit, hats off to the designer and, especially the sewer. It is many years since I have had to sew a leotard, still have painful flashbacks to that time of my sewing life!

  2. Calico says:

    Is the little gymnest as talented as her mother was? My children are all super co-ordinated like moi.

Leave a Reply

