I’m in danger

I’m in danger of over doing it. With themes, that is. I tend to get an idea in my head and run with it, and then keep running, ’til it gets a little ridiculous.

Just before we moved into our new house I quipped to a friend at a BBQ that each room would have a replica chair below a vinyl decal. She thought I was joking.

Anyway, the current fad is screen printing. After the success of the bike cushion (which followed about 12 months of intermittent printing and failing), I am buoyed at the idea of emerging myself in freezer paper, decor fabric and paint. A few weeks ago my lovely husband bought me this (with only a touch of persuasion).

(Photo courtesy of Real Shopping)

I had set out to buy two, but on closer inspection the coordinating one was a little inappropriate. It’s a bit hard to see here, but the chic chick below is holding a fag.

I guess you’d say I’m a typcial reformed smoker who is repulsed by the habit, so linen screen printed cushion or not, I walked away. Still, I had a niggle that a bit more neutral coloured heavy weight fabric with fluoro pink screen printing was needed pour le decore. So here we go. It’s no La cerise sur le gateau, but then again I’m no Coco Chanel so to hell with it.

Grab your fabric (as usual, I headed to Hawthorne Threads, but some local options are Patchwork on Central Park (East Malvern), Amitie (East Bentleigh), Kelani fabric (online) to name a few). I used a fabric “Heath” from Alexander Henry’s new range. This is the grey, but it has a tinge of mocha.

Then cut out your freezer paper to your desired pattern. I had a hankering for tall stemmed loosely drawn flowers, and had to call on Harri. Kids are so much better at relaxed free hand drawing than us crappy,  I-wont-do-it-unless-its -perfect (yet never could draw) arty types.

Pick your paint. If you’re using neutral background fabric, take a punt and go bold, particularly if your design is small. Heck, if you stuff it up it’ll look just as bad in a neutral tone.

Look at this luscious pink!

Paint it on, taking care not to lift the edges of your freezer paper (*). Impatient folk, use a hairdryer to dry inbetween coats.

Gently pull the freezer paper away, using a sharp knife to neatly lift little pieces.

Now your fabric is ready. I decided to use this for a little bolster cushion for a rocker, so picked out a coordinating zip, some neutral linen for backing, and away I went.

The light here isn’t great, but the colours are pretty close (check out the other cushion in the background).

The matching zipper gives it a bit of colour. I was telling my husband how the cushion was, in effect, free because I had “all this stuff (sort of) already.” I neglected to mention that my ridiculous collection of zips came about during last year’s fad, and only now can they be used because only now can I in fact insert them.

I like it.

And no, I don’t mind that it’s all together a little bit too matching.

(* You see, with attempt number three below, it looks a bit shabby when one ventures out of the lines. This is going in the bedroom, for our eyes only.)

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m in danger

  1. Lynne says:

    That pink zipper is fabulous…..even more impressed that you can actually insert them so neatly! 25 years of sewing and I am still struggling!

Leave a Reply

