Is she for real?

In the  hours since I stumbled upon this photograph I have been stunned into (near) silence. This week I have been consumed with the issue of plastic surgery, with it intersecting both my personal and professional life. I simply don’t get it. Sure, one day I might have a few laser treatments to smooth the skin or remove some unsightly sun damage, but THIS?

My 22 year old niece went out with 4 friends the other night. She was the only one without breast implants (and, I dare say, the most gorgeous). What is the world coming to when it is normal to get around with tennis balls as boobs and not even secretly try to cover up the fact that we are mutating ourselves? Sure, part of my angst is borne out of fear that along side these siliconed, botoxed, pulled, nipped and tucked dieting stars is my old sagging, wrinkly, untoned flesh, but surely that’s preferable to this…

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is she for real?

  1. katharine says:

    Does she really think this is a good look? Poor Nicole, she’s been brainwashed by Hollywood into thinking she has to be ultra thin, wrinkle-less and have weird balloon shaped things on her chest (did you notice that the left one is higher?)

    And your niece has four friends with breast implants? Wow, that’s awful! For so many reasons, including how it can affect breastfeeding later on when they have children…

  2. Calico says:

    I’m not conviced she has had plastic surgery?
    I can’t see any difference between her now and what she looked like when she started out.

    Natural Nick.

  3. katharine says:

    LOL Calico 🙂

  4. Kerry says:

    I felt embarrassed [sp] for her when I saw this. She looks dreadful; like one of those store mannequins. Does she think she looks young? She is turning into “the aging harlot” look. Those breasts will be hanging in the wrinkly flesh when she is 60; still as firm as ever.

  5. bronte says:

    Cannot believe parents would allow their 22yr olds to have surgery!

Leave a Reply

