in a bind…

With the big move less than two weeks away, I’m  focusing on the minutiae of room by room decorating detail (if that wasn’t apparent from the previous post) to direct my thoughts away from the inevitable cleaning of two houses, the slight yet pending disappointment that the new house won’t look quite like it did on auction day (when it was so nice we wouldn’t be able to afford it) and the relentless lugging of boxes and unpacking newspaper wrapped things we should have turfed.

Today’s focus is wallpaper. Gee, I’ve wanted to wallpaper a room since we bought our first house, but there just wasn’t a space which was wallpaperable. Either that, or my fascination with wallpaper hadn’t reached its current height.

I went to Porters Paints recently to buy pink chalkboard paint for the top of Harri’s bookshelf and stumbled upon this.

I love this wallpaper for one feature wall, but am a bit nervous about hanging it, and a bit “can’t be shagged” to arrange a wallpaperer. I think I’m stuck on it, but for the two aforementioned reasons have tried to steer Harri towards some paint choices, thinking I could do one bold wall with some lettering on it. I let her fossick (sp?) through the paint cards at Bunnings today and she came up with the following: cherry vanilla; touch of berry; hot pop red; sweet caress; ohh la la; satellite and wisteria wonder. The latter two are purple, so she seems to be making the transition from pink to purple right on cue, which I’ve heard is about 5.

While a pink wall doesn’t grab me as much as the wallpaper, a purple might work…

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

