tom foolery

I remember Year 12 typing, with Mrs Knott yelling at me “Oh for goodness sake, Sophie, stop that tom foolery”, as I manouvered my office chair up and down repeatedly in great amusement. I’ve loved that phrase ever since, and also lived to regret that I didn’t pay attention in typing class, or in any other class for that matter.

Despite having worked for the last two days, and again tomorrow, I feel decidedly in holiday mode after the Easter break and have been waiting with great anticipation for the rest of my quilt fabric to arrive from Hawthorne Threads. Imagine my delight when I came home to a little parcel on the table, dinner cooked, and husband going out for the night.

Well great intentions were temporarily interrupted by a little person, aged 4, who does not like going to bed, um, ever. Then once I’d prepared a snack, emptied all stuffed toys on her bed, heated “Mr Beanie”, changed a CD, threatened loss of all privileges (yeah, right) and removed a “star”, I had that sorted.  This interruption, however, I didn’t foresee.

I discovered that I bark at the cat in the same voice as I use to bark at aforementioned non sleeping child. And she similarly ignores me.

Anyway, part of the quilt is now sewn up, but I feel it may convert itself unwittingly into a doona cover. Well, it sort of has to now, for a few reasons. Firstly, I have a compulsion with top stitching, and once I sewed these little seams together I had to grab the iron, press them out and then…top stitch. Can’t hardly be quilted now. And then there’s the money. Although the quilter I had in mind is very reasonable, I was thinking a little about the $300 in the context of needing a doona, and not a quilt.

Oh, and I hear you say, “Ha, she’s saving her pennies because she caved and bought this!”

But I didn’t. That would have been (tom) foolish. But by god I love the back light.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

