New York New York

I'd love to live in an apartment in New York and spend my days designing and screen printing in my studio. Well, perhaps that's not quite true, LA would suit us better, but it seems as though the screen printers of this world reside in New York, and their life sounds fancy.

I got this for my birthday the year before last.

Printing-by-hand 

but other than making this apron for Trish, and using my new found "skills" to test run my tshirts (before having them professionally done), I haven't done as much as I'd like. Until this weekend, when I put my newly purchased Speedball equipment to good use.

We've been househunting the last few weeks and Harri is bored to tears. So while I was printing away, I said "go draw something for me. Something you love."  Poor kid drew a house…

Sc0008b0b7
 

Then I said, "pick a colour." She picked yellow, because that's the colour of the sun. Fair point.

We then went to work, cutting, ironing and then painting. I'll confess I interfered in the whole process, and must learn to be less controlling, but we came up with this. 

House1 

I fiddled a bit more when she went to sleep, and now we have this.

House2

I'm thinking these might be good as custom items on the site. You send in a drawing that your little person has done, choose your colour, and then I'll whip up one of these so that every meal time they can admire their cleverness. 

House3   

Stay tuned for the grown up ones on the way. 

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New York New York

  1. Calico says:

    Great idea! People, big and small, love personalised things. Sensational!

  2. Amber says:

    What a great idea! (Ahh and I’ve been wanting to buy that book for ages! Might have to lash out!)

  3. Millie says:

    New York sounds wonderful – a much more grounding experience than trying to make your way in LaLaLand (aka Los Angeles)!
    Millie ^_^

  4. Trish says:

    Oooh, pretty. What a great idea. Excuse me while I go and line my kids up with some paper and pens…

Leave a Reply

