Lovely day

I tell you, today was a lovely day. 

With Christmas and New Year, and working four (yes FOUR) days a week, it feels like forever since me and my best girl have just hung around the house doing "fings."  And we had fun.

I really want a kitten, but given we'll be moving house this year (sooner rather than later I hope), I don't want to uproot a pet. Still, it is a bit quiet with just the three of us, so Harri and I have been talking about goldfish. She had three star last night (meaning asleep sans hysteria and before 11pm) and so today was the day.

This is what we got.

Splish_and_splash

and in it are two goldfish and three Dani…something or others. So that's five new additions to the family, who haven't yet been named. 

Truth be told, I don't really like goldfish, and I'm pretty sure I didn't appropriately transition them into the tank. I kind of tipped them in before treating the water or properly inserting the filter. I twas simply struggling with the fact that they'd been abruptly caught in fish nets, popped in a plastic bag tied and stuck in a hot car to our house. I do realise that fish live under water but I just felt that the knot on the bag had to be undone to stop them suffocating, hence the 3 second transition from bag to bowl.

They may be traumatised, but I hope we get at least a few days out of them. According to the pet shop worker, you can expect "anywhere between a day and 2 years."  She then knocked the bag off the counter.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lovely day

  1. Trish says:

    HAHAHAHAHA you undid the knot so they could breathe. That’s so cute. That’s something I would do, too.
    I thought you were just going to get a bowl? 😉

Leave a Reply

