Mixing it up.

There won't be a single one of my blog readers who hasn't heard that I've decided to downsize ITR for a while.  I made that decision at about 6am this morning, having gone to bed at 1am, but then been awake with a "stirring" Harriet for the next 5 hours, 'til I gave up and got up. 

I don't function well on 5 meagre messy hours sleep, but more often than not that's all I get(*), because I need to stay up late to work on ITR and then get up early for my day job. So it's not a surprise that something had to give, and this morning it did, leading to this.

Sale
Having made my decision, I decided to put everything at 50% off to help me generate more cash for the RCH before NYE, and to clear out stock (you see, if I'm going to step back, I need my spare room back). Great support from my loyal shoppers followed and we've now exceeded $2000 for the cause. I'm optimistic we can get to $2500 by NYE and I'll be over the moon. (Truth be told, I'd only expected $1000 for the month when I set out to donate 50% of sales to RCH).

I don't know what shape ITR will take once the bulk of the stock has sold out, but contrary to my initial instinct, I'm going to keep the site running. I'm going to keep designing and I'm going to keep blogging, but just less frenetically. 

Mimi and Tezza bought Harri a new bike for Christmas, and it was so nice this afternoon taking a trip on the bike paths (Daddy and me a pied) to the park, without worrying about finishing 10 skirts, ordering Winter fabric, updating the stock list etc.  More importantly, I didn't have to look at that dear little face asking me to play and having to respond "in a minute, Mummy's just packing another order." 

PICT4659
 Phew, I think I can breathe again.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mixing it up.

  1. Calico says:

    Congratulations on making such a big and important decision. I’ll still be following your blog and buying up on new designs when they do appear. Congrats to Harri on her new bike. Is it pink?

  2. Carolyn says:

    No Calico, it is purple with a seat for Rosie on the back!Barbie is not alive in the Bike world this year(must have fallen off and …gone to a nice world)!

Leave a Reply

