Oh My.

It's only 5 December but I've already had such a great response to our "50% to the kids" promotion.

Thank you 

I'm so excited. This fundraising can be hard.  It is, to be frank, quite boring, irritating, draining and frustrating to have people constantly asking you for money for a plethora of well meaning causes.  But fundraising takes on a different complexion when it is something which strikes a personal chord, like this does for our family.

My Dad gave me great charity advice in my early years.  Stick with one charity and donate generously. I thought that was great advice until the day that Dad knocked back the Red Cross door knockers because he already sponsored the Mouth and Foot Painting Artists. I remember vividly Mum running down the street after them with loose change jingling, cursing Dad for his "unbelievable" act. (There are some appeals you can't refuse).

So maybe stick with that advice but temper it. Of course I'll dedicate myself to the Stroke Clinic for eternity, but I also give a bit to the Heart Foundation (they've helped a lot of people I know) and Canteen (kids with cancer, are you kidding me?)

But if you're going to take my Dad's advice, why not make the Stroke Clinic your charity of choice? You get to buy stuff while you donate.

PS. How much do you think we can raise by Christmas?  This is particularly important because Harriet came home from hospital last October, but then was back in and finally home mid November. Having us all home for Christmas was so fantastic, but it was never far from our minds that many of the friends (big and little) that we'd made were spending Christmas there. The more we can give this time of year, the better. 

Christmas-tree-ornaments4
 

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh My.

  1. Calico says:

    So glad there has been a good response. The “ChipIn” link is in USD. Are you able to change that? You might want to make people aware that they are donating in USD as they are slightly higher than AUD.

Leave a Reply

