Sweet dreams

I love nice bed linen. Can't get enough of it really.  You see I figure if I can't be sleeping in the bed, it may as well look gorgeous.

I had a lot of fun making Harri's doona, and jumped at the chance to make a few more for Kate's kids.

The twins' room has been painted recently, and Kate decided on one blue/grey wall (the rest off white) because their own choices were pink and yellow, and never the twain could meet.  So to give them a little of what they wanted, I thought I'd add some pink and yellow to the doonas, backed on some blue/grey striped sheeting.

Twins' doonas1

After the chain girls it was fun to do the chain boys.  (Harriet was fascinated.  She was much more in favour of what I created for Anna…)

Twins' doonas

It's funny with twins, and twins' bed linen – you need it to coordinate (being in the same room) but they need their edge of individuality. All packed up and ready to go (yep, just a few little spots on the pillowcases). The packaging is almost as much fun as the designing…

PICT4422

Now to Mathias – a slightly harder subject because he's no toddler but (thankfully, I'll say) not yet at the stage where he wants a black doona and you can get the hell out of his room for even looking.

Kate let me splurge a bit here (no, not really Bjorn), and we opted for some Sprout design fabric which I love. The bulk of their iconic fabrics are reprints of Pamela Walker designs circa 1970s. Here are a few of my favourites…

SD006_th

This is gorgeous in pink & red too…(*)

SD010_th

SD035_th 

Alas Mathias is clever and chose the fish (and because he probably doesn't care less, just approaching 9 ripe years, and because he has a green wall so Kate and I only gave him green options).

I found some dark aqua sheeting from one of my intriguing fabric sourcing shops, which works in well with the fish to liven it up a bit. I added a little touch of sparkly ribbon on the inside, to finish it neatly.

Fish1

Add to that a few swimming fish for the pillow case…

Fish2

And his is now all wrapped up and ready to go too. Fishdoona

Sweet dreams my little friends. xxx

* See, told you.

SD020_th

SD002_th

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sweet dreams

  1. Trish says:

    These look so gorgeous. I can’t wait until we are in our OWN house and I can paint the walls whatever colour I want, then send you a paint swatch and ask you to make some sheets and cushions to match. Oh that will be a happy day!

  2. Calico says:

    So stunning!!!!! Mathias will love it. You are so talented.
    What a bitch of a mother I am. Pink and yellow in the shades you chose would have looked good on the walls.

  3. Nicole says:

    those are so gorgeous. You need to be selling some online…..I am so envious, if I had half the talent and creativity that you had my child would have cute and funky home made doona covers & sheets as well, but alas… I have to settle for the naff children’s designs that I have been able to find!

  4. Penny says:

    When Gemma moves out into her own room (tomorrow if she had the chance) and Georgie gets her own bed, can I get you to make me 3 doona covers?

Leave a Reply

