Story Time – Saintly Saints

St5

It's a little flat in our house today, because we don't subscribe to the theory that "it's only football."  We love football, we love St Kilda, and we really wanted them to win the Grand Final yesterday. 

Despite having grown up on the periphery of AFL, it wasn't until I moved to Melbourne nearly a decade ago that I really came to understand the significance AFL has in this town. I love it.

We had some friends and family round to watch the game, and in the typical style of a host who doesn't really cook, I focused my attention on the decor. Only in Melbourne would it be so easy to get St Kilda paraphernalia. 

St6

I think it's fairly apparent that these little fudge cup cakes were made with the St Kilda colours in mind, though my husband didn't notice. His lack of reaction made me immediately think of Kezza, a friend of mine, who lovingly made love heart shaped shortbread in anticipation of her husband's return from an overseas trip. They had been married for at least 30 years by that point. He ate the whole batch without noticing the love sentiment.

So anyway we lost. My disappointment initially was for James, then myself, but that turned quickly to the team who have given every ounce of their souls for 12 months for that 3 hours yesterday.  There aren't many jobs around, I figure, where it all comes down to a 3 hour performance at the end of the year. So this Story is dedicated to St Kilda – you did us proud.

Drown your sorrows…St3

Wipe away your tears…

St7

Pack your bag…

St1

And indulge in a little retail therapy. 

136

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Story Time – Saintly Saints

  1. Lynne says:

    Now I am in tears all over again!!

  2. bronte says:

    As a Geelong supporter forever,all I can say is`it was a wonder4ful match and a wonderful day!`

Leave a Reply

