It started with a this…

to (almost) quote Hot Chocolate. That appalling title can be attributed to two things.  Firstly, I have just downloaded not one, but two, Pete Cetera (*) songs from iTunes, making Hot Chocolate hip.  Secondly, I have just literally inhaled a bag of m&m mix ups (no, not a little bag), making [Hot] Chocolate hip.

As the name doesn't suggest, this is intended to be a "Story Time – Flower Power" post disguised as a "Where it all started" post.

In April of last year, having mastered the art of blanket applique and having stumbled across a little burda sundress pattern, I sat down to make my first garment, properly. I whizzed away, fumbling with interfacing and bias binding, but was thrilled with the result.

Flowerpower

A mere 18 months down the track there are 100 things I have improved on, and would change, but I still adore this dress because the colours, the flower and the design are typically In The Round.  What I mean is that they reflect my design style perfectly.  It's funny how we all have a style, and there's no abandoning it. I've always been mad on colour, slightly daggy/conservative/last decade fashions and simplicity.  What I wanted to create, for a kids range, was more like this…


Eenie shirt

You'll see I wasn't even close. I in fact even had a pre-business start up policy of using only white, beige, silver and a hint of gold.  I breached those guidelines almost immediately and continue to do so (I made this yesterday…)

STSPE

I've now accepted my style, and that acceptance has made it easier to "create" because I don't have artificial boundaries to work within, and instead I just do what I love the idea of, and it usually works (acknowledging that there have been no shortage of hideous creations along the way).

So,  flowers, colour and simplicity. Here's a snapshot of how it's evolved over the year or so…

The skirt…

85

The dress

3

The tee **

4


And, as of yesterday, which was my last day of 

unadulterated sewing freedom for a while, the hand towel.

BTAM

BTKMCU

STGF

I designed the above flower for a brooch, and based it loosely on the frangiapani.  I like it, but it doesn't come up well in the photos at all, and might be better as its first incarnation.

As a kid well and truly of the 70s, I love flowers, and I think they'll be hanging round the Round for a while yet…

* I (far too) often daydream about a move back to the Nation's Capital for family/friends reasons, only to wake abruptly when the reality of the impracticality of such a move sinks in.  I love Melbourne, James couldn't work in Canberra (mmm…slight hurdle), we have family here (not just in Canberra), I have a great workplace, Melbourne is better to start a design label etc etc.  That doesn't mean I don't have homesick days a decade or two on.  And so if I download Pete Cetera to imagine myself some 25 years ago sitting at home listening to 1206FM Love Song Dedications broadcast only as it could be by Richard Mercer, so be it.  

Richard-mercer-7

** You'll see more of this when summer 09 is launched. I'm only about 6 months behind proper designers in releasing my season's wares, but maybe I'm a little bit cool.  Or I could be waiting for my happy helpers to help a little more hurriedly. 



About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It started with a this…

  1. JasperBoy says:

    Love the coloured spotty elephants the best 🙂
    Jen in Melbourne

  2. Calico says:

    ITR is my favourite kids’ clothes label. I’ve very excited about the upcoming spring/ summer range. The nation’s capital daydreams about having you back here too.

Leave a Reply

