Cushion couture

Now you know I love a custom order.  And that I can also be a tad slow at getting around to them (particularly when they're for patient friends), but I will say that the delay is often due, in part, to the required "thinking" time.

My dear friend Calico has ordered a new couch.  (No, no, not from me – I did the cushions, read on). This blurry photo is it, albeit in a taupe suede colour.

Jasper

And this is kind of the rug which is going in the same room. It actually has a more cornflower blue, with some dark red, but you get the drift.

Digimarc

I was given licence to do whatever I wanted.  I just had to make 5 cushions.

I knew I wanted to do 3 or so in Amy Butler's heavyweight fabric, because the rug really lends itself to florals, and her colours are always spot on.  

The other two then needed to be a little different…

Fastforward to a trip to Bowral, where I came across a little shop called Fabric Finesse.  It is a pokiesh little place, which has an unbelievable collection of designer remnant fabrics.  Half bolts, or more, of last season's collections, from the likes of MissoniLisa Ho to name a few.  I was struck by this Lisa Ho wool knit, which tied in beautifully with the colour scheme…

Lisaho

I then thought I could modify a relatively new design, one which I entered in the Living Creatively Cushion Couture competition, because linen and wools work with anything.

PICT3697

And here we go…

Katescushions

I think the next challenge needs to be our house, because it is horribly neglected while I burrow away on the website and custom orders.  Thank God I don't have a home studio, because our space really does look void of creativity and not the best ad for a burgeoning business. 

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cushion couture

  1. Calico says:

    Couldn’t resist having a peek. In tears and admiration, gratitude and excitement. They are so perfect and stunning. Thanks so much, you really are the dreamiest.

  2. Lynne says:

    Cushion perfection!

  3. Calico says:

    Just to clarify. I did not give you license to do whatever you liked. I expressed a clear preference for a Dora the Explorer theme for the cushions, which you have ignored.

  4. Sophie says:

    You haven’t seen the back.

Leave a Reply

