Have you met Mr Jones?

Congratulations to Jasper Boy who is the winner of the last standing pair of ITR summer 08 boys' shorts!

In short, Jasper boy said she wants boys' clothes to be "tran-seasonal (suitable for layering), brand identifiable (by their design not by screaming a name or logo) and contrasting (I love a flash of pattern/colour on a cuff, inside a collar, under the zipper or buttons)."

You see, this is what I want my boys' range to be.  In particular, I want my boys' range to be identified by a unique design, and to be simple with hints of bright colours.  Thanks to you all for your comments, and Jasper boy your shorts are in the post!

It is fitting that Jasper boy is this week's winner, because I am here to post about the second pants order.The order for Elliot's older brother, (nearly) 7 year old Jasper.  Or Jas. Or Jassie Jones.  Jasper isn't as keen on lego, and he's at school, so he's pretty old and likes rough and tumble sort of fun.  So I opted for something a bit more robust and comfy but pretty fussless (not a word, I know).  That lead me to the natural linen, because no matter what you think, it is tough, doens't fade, doesn't need much (ok any) ironing and looks great with all colours. 

Add some side contrast pockets in alphabet fabric, in keeping with Elliot's pair…

Jaspants3

…some cargo pockets (my first)…

Jaspants2

and Jassie's shorts were done. 

Jaspants1

Ignore the lazy photoshopping, and the lazier failure to wash off the pink chalk fly guide (Pippo was kind enough not to ask if it was permanent), and turn your attention to this groovy label which I sewed in in lieu of the ITR standard.  Sophesworklabel

I got this ribbon tape on, you guessed it, etsy. It is actually a repeat of "Sophie's work / Handmade linen" – so perfect.  Ok, it does kind of say "Sophe's work", but I can forgive the Japanese one little typo when they create something so beautiful. 

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in In The Round. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Have you met Mr Jones?

  1. Lynne says:

    Those shorts are great…I don’t suppose there is any chance that your almost six foot, almost 17 year old nephew would wear a pair??!!

  2. Calico says:

    I love it! at least they didn’t print “Sofuhe woruku”. naturaru rinen”

  3. JasperBoy says:

    Whoo Hoo!!
    Thank you so much for choosing me as the winner. I really did think about and consider my answer before entering. I’m glad that my thoughts fit in with your philosophy. The pants will be going to a birthday boy who is turning 3 in September. Perfect!!
    Good Luck with the release of your summer range.
    Jen in Melbourne
    (commenting from chilly Canberra)

  4. Bronte says:

    Does that tape come with my name on it as well?
    B xxxBronte

Leave a Reply

