I want boys’ clothes to be…?

Ok.  So two hours of my life I will never get back were the two I just spent trying to design an e newsletter. Disastrous in every respect, which is bit disappointing because I want to give something away!

I've spent the day finalising the fabric and colours for the complete summer range. That's it, no more changing my mind again. And again.  I'll tell you more about the stripes, the denim, the leggings, the appliques, the double gauze metallic fabrics soon.  Most pressing, however, is that in doing some web tweaking I discovered I have ONE item left over from summer 2008/09, the season that saw In The Round launched (rather unofficially, I'd have to say the official launch was winter).

Anyway, to clear my webspace for summer 2009/10 and have it all perfectly matching as I like to do, these are up for grabs. They are one of my first pairs of boys zip up fly black linen shorts, with contrast side pockets, belt loops and cuffs.  They aren't perfect (read: pre overlocker days), but they are sweet and were made with much determination and pride.

47089

The photo is terrible, I cleaned out a lot of my older shots this morning and seem to have deleted the original of this to re format it (but gee the internet is fast now), so head over to the shop for a better enlarged image if you fancy. What I want to know, is what it is you look for in boy's clothes (whether or not you have a need to buy them). You see, I'd ideally design only for girls, as I have a girl at the ready to test things on.  But I really hate the lack of boy's clothes out there with any pizazz or style (you know, not babyish but not tweenie for a toddler), so I try to come up with some alternatives.  

To win these, just finish this sentence.  "I want boy's clothes to be…"

Best answer wins. I'll let you know next Thursday. If you have no 3 year old boys to pass them off to, stick 'em on ebay or whatever.  I don't mind. I just don't want them clashing with Summer 09/10.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in In The Round. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I want boys’ clothes to be…?

  1. Calico says:

    soft, smart and sweet, like my little sons.

  2. JasperBoy says:

    “I want boy’s clothes to be…”
    tran-seasonal (suitable for layering), brand identifiable (by their design not by screaming a name or logo) and contrasting (I love a flash of pattern/colour on a cuff, inside a collar, under the zipper or buttons).
    A piece that has people asking “where did you get that?”
    Jen in Melbourne

Leave a Reply

