The height of laziness

I hate washing doona covers.  Not so much washing them, but taking them off, ironing them and putting them back on.

As I made Harri's bed this morning I really couldn't escape the fact that the doona needed a wash.  It had black marks all over it (no doubt the remnants of food from her face or hands while she made a cubby house) and was generally icky.

I mustered up the energy to pull it off and dump it on the machine.

Washing2

And left it there all morning. 

Washing

It then dawned on me that Harri would come home from kindy (late on Tuesdays), have a snack, a bath, a story and jump into an unmade bed if I didn't get my act together. I rummaged through my "WIP" (work in progress) box and found some gorgeous denim / white striped sheeting I'd bought about 6 months ago to sew up, aghast at the RRP of $80 for a decent single bed sheet. 

I had an idea!

Through Dr Phil and Oprah, I cut, I measured, I fusibly interfaced and ignored the washing machine.

Doon2

I saw the most beautiful new doona cover designs by Dwell Studio at kidsinstyle which had large printed paper chain dolls in pink, beige and chocolate brown on a white background.  Just gorgeous, but the $280 price tag wouldn't cut it at the moment.  So this is a "copy" of the theme which I thought was pretty cool. 

Doona3

I love hot pink and chocolate brown together.  I was actually using these fabrics for this Handmade to Retail challenge but they seemed to work so well with the denim sheeting that, well, I'll just have to go and get more.  

Harri is the chocolate brown doll in the middle.  As I explained to her, "you're kind of like the rest of them, but just that little bit more special." 

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The height of laziness

  1. Bronte says:

    That is so gorgeous- I am sure she slept well last night

  2. Lynne says:

    Only you could MAKE a new doona cover, complete with applique, in one afternoon and still have time to have a cup of tea with me….now you are just completely showing off!!

  3. JasperBoy says:

    Super special 🙂
    I wish I could be so productive when laziness hits (which is pretty often!).
    Jen in Melbourne

  4. Calico says:

    Not my definition of lazy. Laziness is not changing the sheets at all. Come to think of it, my eldest’s sheets have been there for some time…….

Leave a Reply

