Spinsters are back.

And by "Spinsters,"  I mean girls that spin.  (Though let me add there is nothing wrong with spinsters in the old fashioned sense, and indeed of late I think my other half has wished I was indeed one of them).

When I was pregnant with Harriet, other than vomiting for 38 weeks, I also spent a considerable amount of time thinking I was having a boy.  I'm not sure why, because my first instinct was I was having a girl, but that changed and most of the pregnancy was spent thinking about boy's names.  

We got quite a surprise when Harriet was born, simply because we really didn't expect a girl. But it was great for three reasons (1) we had a name (for the boys we were still undecided, useless really given the time we'd had) (2) she was divine and (3) I never ever cared even remotely if I had boys or girls.

Well having a girl has taught me so many things.  The usual things about lipstick and jewellery and pink (gasp), but also the unquestionable power of nature over nuture. I think little girls are predominately programmed to want to spin.  Sure, the Disney princesses all spin, but long before the wicked television started guiding her ways, Harriet has wanted to wear clothes that spin and drape and flow when she moves.

Now I've never been a pencil skirt wearer (our family hips will rid you of that desire), but I am partial to an A line, and most of the girls skirts I've designed take that shape.  This is a favourite.

Navy cord skirt

This gets little wear in our house.  It looks adorable, but it doesn't spin, and the wearer can be gloomy as a result.

Harriskirt

So with my new found "time", Harri, Waverider and I headed down to Amitie with me on a mission to come back with a Harri project.  That is where I picked up this great Sandi Henderson pattern and this gorgeous array of fabrics (adding a few from my recent Etsy finds.

 SP2

The pattern calls for a tie back bodice, but to make it a little more versatile for us layer dressing mothers, and to show off being a snaplock owner (my father in law cannot bear that I own a tool he doesn't), I opted for denim with red snap locks. Snaps are great for wriggly and or self dressers, and are easier on fabrics like this soft denim, without the pulling of a buttonhole.

SP6

and came up with this.

Spinningdress1

As for the wearer?  

HarridressMS

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in In The Round. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spinsters are back.

  1. Calico says:

    I love it. What a triumph. Look at the expression on the little spinner. I think you’ll have trouble getting her to wear anything else from now on.

  2. Calico says:

    I’m excited that TypeKey lets me post comments. Your other blog excluded me.

  3. Waverider says:

    Gorgeous! I am loving the blue honeycomb spot. I definitely think I need a “spinning” dress…. for spinning with Harri and the added advantage of hiding huge hips!

  4. Carolyn says:

    It is gorgeous and I love the delight on her face!
    Bronte

  5. JasperBoy says:

    Hello, a new reader here.
    I just wanted to stop by and say ‘hi’ and to also let you know that I became familiar with a few of your items at Magnolia Square over the past few days as I was helping Cintia from My Poppet with her stall. Brought something home with me too 🙂
    Jen in Melbourne

  6. Sophie says:

    Hi Jen, thanks for posting! I hope Magnolia Square went well and that some of ITR’s stuff moved…the stall looked fabulous and I too came home with some things from it – including the Rice melamine cups.
    Sophie.

  7. JasperBoy says:

    Oh, did I miss you? I’m sorry that I didn’t get to say hello (if I was there when you stopped by that is). Several designers did come to say hello to Cintia, but I tried to keep out of the way 🙂
    Yes, definitely there were sales from your range. At least two or three of each item, only a handful of ITR goodies were returned to the store (and won’t be on the rack for long).
    You were my fave of the new range that Cintia brought to Mag Square.
    I look forward to making some future purchases, to seeing your summer range and to reading along with your blog (I went back through the blog history already).
    Congrats to you on this venture!
    Jen in Melbourne

Leave a Reply

