Am I living creatively?

Living Creatively, the gorgeous online crafters mag, hosts monthly competitions for its crafty readers, to encourage them (us) to design something inspiring to other crafters and at the same push ourselves to think outside our own design boundaries.

In an upcoming post I’ll talk about how excited I am that they’ve added In The Round to their blogroll and website directory.  For the moment, however, let’s talk about May’s competition, Cushion Couture which asks us to make, quite simply, a cushion cover. The means have been left up to the entrants, so I decided to try a couple of different ideas.

The first was a bit of screen printing.  I love birds, and I love this deep milky cream quilted fabric I bought online about 12 months ago (“oh, I’m sure I’ll find a great idea for it”).  I decided to mix the two, and I’m pretty happy with the result to be honest.  

When I say that, you need to know that there are plenty of things I make that I’m not happy with, and that end up not on my blog but in this little beauty from Ikea…

(I have the red one…)
Anyway, it took a long time to draw the birds (it is a shame as an avid crafter that drawing doesn’t come naturally), but got there in the end, and then joined them with a twirly swirl which is supposed to emulate a little piece of ribbon joining them.



After a lot of internet trawling for the perfect button to finish off the cushion, I found these locally….
(Slightly scratchy shot but you get the matchingness point)

The second cushion hasn’t photographed so well.  In keeping with the In The Round‘s genesis, I appliqued circles in deep red wool felt on heavy weight natural aiden linen.  
Not expecting to have any luck purchasing matching buttons, I didn’t even explore and instead covered these little babies in the same red wool felt, which is not something you’d do as a past time, especially when you’ve just jammed your finger in the door…badly.

So I’ll be ironing these up, taking better shots, and submitting them into the comp.  No, I don’t expect to come close to winning, but if I even got a mention then that’d direct people to my site and / or this blog and then more people would learn about our support of the Stroke Clinic at the Royal Children’s Hospital and within a few years we’ll be sending bucket loads of cash their way.  No better way of thanking people for, well, more on that later…

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

