All that glitters

is silver…

It might seem that I’m foraying into the world of jewels, but truth be known I jewelled long before I sewed.  While my fascination with fabric is unlikely to fade any time soon, it wasn’t a surprise after 6 months of intense creativity that I might head back to the beads.

But I was really inspired to head back to the jewels when my Mum came back from a recent trip to Paris (replete with ribbon supplies) with the most gorgeous array of round leather cord in violet, lime, red, and orange. I held on to it for a few weeks before deciding what to do with it.  While I loved my late 90s beading, I really wanted to get away from plastic and glass, and the usual stuff you see at the cheaper markets, and settle on one or two things.  I have.  Resin and swarovski crystal.

The point really is to show off the leather, and to create simple jewellery to dress up winter skivvies or summer tees, much like the brooches my sister in law Lynne makes for In The Round.

Here’s a sneak peak of the silver range. Look at the depth of colour in this smoke Swarovski pear pendant on round Greek silver leather.

So nice close up….
And then there’s the simpler oval bead choker, again on the silver leather and adjustable in length.  I like to tie these tightly around the neck with the ends sitting freely on the collarbone.

The nice ends….

I still have a little stash of Swarovski crystals left, thanks to my Etsy supplier.  I like the simple things I’ve started, but am going to let the ideas rest, a bit like a lamb roast, before I start the next line, because the last two days of beading have created nothing better than things akin to this…

Ok, well not this bad (this was a semi finalist in the 2004 Ugliest Necklace Competition), but let’s just say that I wasn’t doing the beads justice, and time will breed fresh ideas.  Right?
About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All that glitters

  1. waverider says:

    Be still my beating heart! That amber necklace and earring set is calling my name.

Leave a Reply

