…and family

Speaking of friends, and family, I’ve had this post waiting for a bit.  


My sister in law has moved over to Melbourne from Perth with her family, and a few weeks back we were browsing in a local fabric shop, getting some supplies for the boys’ range and just generally admiring the wares (I had waited for that moment since their possible moved was mooted over 6 months ago).  Chatting about what lay ahead when this enormous amount of fabric arrived from overseas, the cord that is, I said that I’d decided I really needed an overlocker and would probably rent or borrow my Mum’s.  Typical of my sister in law, the solution maker, she announced, “I’ve got one.  It’s yours on permanent loan.” Also typical of my sister in law, the overlocker is in perfect working order.  This is now in my home…

What I love about the overlocker is that it is green – and that it belonged to my sister in law’s mother, who is a sensational sewer, and who has looked after this so well.  Having overlocked everything in sight, I’m not sure how I would ever have gotten away without one (I wouldn’t have), and I love the fact that there’s now a bit of family in everything I make….
About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to …and family

  1. waverider says:

    I am so pleased that the overlocker is now out of the dark cupboard it has been residing in for the past five years. I don’t think it even came out of the box during its stay in the Middle East so it may even be ten years of hibernation.I also have a 16 year old boy available for permanent loan if you need one of those!!

Leave a Reply

