The boys light up

I don’t have great shots, but…


I’ve had some really great feedback on Party Time, thanks to all of you. I’ve loved doing these one off outfits (well, 4 of them, one each in sizes 1 to 4), because I can try slightly less main stream things, with fabric which might not appeal to the masses, but which I think should resonate with a few. 


Part of the reason I started making kids clothes was to fill what I still think is a gap in the kids’ clothes market, despite there being a tonne of stuff out there.  For a start, a lot of what’s out there is mass produced in ordinary fabric.  The nicer stuff, is sameish and damn expensive (ok if you’re like me with one child, but what if you have 3?
).  Thirdly, too much pink.  That’s all I’ll say about the girls’ options. Fourthly, not enough boys’ options.  At all.

So I’m a little disappointed that when I created party time, I forgot about the boys!  I was in the midst of making things with elephants (and that fabric is quite feminine, event the blue colourways) and tulle.  A dear friend, mother of model twins soon to be seen on website, kinda picked me up on this and I was off.  

I wanted to start by sticking to the animal theme (following the elephant find, gee I love that fabric), and stumbled upon this terrific lion fabric. Perfect for shorts.  It comes in a couple of colourways, but I decided upon the chocolate/white for the sizes 2 and 4, and the aqua for sizes 1 and 3.  Like the elephants, it’s heavy weight cotton for playing in and getting grubby.


The whole point of party time is an outfit. So I trotted off in search of tees (including places other than my usual supplier) and came up with these.  I love the coffee colour to go with the aqua, and for the chocolate it’s either white or green. A little lapelle, a few fabric canvas buttons, and an outfit emerged.


I’d love feedback from those with boys.  Harriet wouldn’t dare try them on, I’m sure of it, but will be mighty mad that there’s no lion skirt.  Maybe that’s next.  If I can have 4 party time themes, plus the general range, plus everything else, I’ll be happy.

PS. Can I add that the friend who picked me up on the absence of boys’ stuff, also just picked me up on the plethora of typos and grammatical errors in this blog, am mortified but hopefully they’re corrected now.
About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The boys light up

  1. Calico says:

    That so called “friend” of yours sounds like a piece of work. Ditch her!

Leave a Reply

