And now to the kitchen….

I’ve been busy, hence the reason it’s been a bit quiet at this end.  BUT, I’ve been busy creating, planning and sewing – and – finishing up.  Tomorrow is my last day at my day job before 12 months leave of absence.  I like my job, I love the people I work with but this is absolutely the right decision for me so I am super excited!

Now, planning ahead to all the things I’ll be freed up to do without work, I’m starting to worry that I may have bitten off a bit more than I can chew with the self-imposed deadline for launching the website (and of course having the stock ready).

In short, I’ve been madly cutting out and sewing bag linings (including fiddly interior zip pockets); more party time stuff (including a boys’ range thanks to Calico’s suggestion) and aprons.  I’ve done a couple of apron designs to date – one picture is on the blog page, and more will follow once my cooperative models email them to me (hear me Trish and Pen?).  Essentially, there’s the traditional apron (reversible); modern long apron (reversible) and modern short aprons.  Some are reversible, but those that aren’t are all backed in white cotton.  They have either twill or fabric waist bands, and a pretty good range of fabric choices. 

This new one is one of my favourites – its pretty modern and won’t appeal to those (like Mimi) who feel (age aside) that they need full coverage when in the kitchen, but looks pretty cool with a plain tee and won’t matter too much if you forget to take it off when the guests arrive.  In fact, I love both of these fabrics so much that I’m thinking of a skirt idea for it.

The waist band is metallic mirror ball dot fabric (yes, it really is metallic) in ice blue and the body of the apron itself is home decor weight in chocolate, reds etc.

I just don’t like unbacked fabric, so this is backed with soft white cotton (I guess that makes it reversible but why would you bother?) which also gives it a bit more structure.  The band is long enough for a bow at the back, or short tie at the front.
I’ve cut out about another 6 of these, all with metallic waist bands (some shorter, some longer), the best being a metallic violet band with a big pastel floral pattern for the apron. I might have to keep that for myself…

Once I get a bit more sewing under my belt, including acquiring a few more tees and coming up with some ideas for them, I’ll post the boys party time stuff.  Calico is right, why should party time be reserved for girls?  I should have known better…
About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

