Tee time

Over the last few days I’ve been working on the design of Party Time 2, which feature the tulle trim (incorrectly spelt by me initially as “tuille”, thanks Tines for pointing that out).  I was happy with the design, but needed to create a matching tee (this is, after all, story time), and maybe tweak the fabric?  As I’m only doing four of these outfits (i.e. one each of sizes 1 – 4) I have a fair bit of flexibility with fabric choices.  Rummaging through what I had, I came across one of my favourite designs of all time, sitting quietly waiting for the right design.  Fortunately I had bought this in two colourways, enough for 4 skirts in total. 


This is the red colourway, with coffee tulle and gold sequin hem.  The other is mushroom /silver, but still on the cutting room floor.  I fiddled around with ages for the tee design. I wanted something to match the skirt, but not overshadow it, and it had to have tulle. I probably wasted a metre of fabric to come up with the tulle flower with covered button centre, and my fingers are aching from covering the buttons, but it works for me.  This fabric is so soft, it hangs beautifully and, I’m told, spins beautifully too.


While I was at it, I made a tee to match the initial Party Time 2 skirt, this time in long sleeves, because the skirt is a fair bit heavier lending itself nicely to the winter range.  I managed to get the fabric centred on one of the scribble designs so that its smack bang on the button, and teamed it with the cloudy blue coloured tulle of the skirt. 
I have far too many sleepless design nights, but I’m going to go to bed fairly relaxed tonight because I’m happy with how these outfits have turned out. Conversely, I’m having second thoughts about the elephant tees in Party Time 1, but more on that next time.  I’ll leave you with a little shot of something I tried tonight as an alternative to screen printing.  Metallic mirror ball dots….hooray…
PS. The website isn’t far away.  The web designers sent through a draft on Friday and I think it’s going to be great…
About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tee time

  1. Calico says:

    I love the disco ball elephant! Once the shop is up and running, it’s going to be my favourite place to be browsing and buying.

  2. Pippo says:

    The tulle skirt and top combo is one of my current favs. Keep creating!

  3. Carolyn says:

    Could I have one Tulle outfit -large size for me!A thinner one for Barb and we could look gorgeous in Noosa in September!!!!!!!!!!Great Advertising for oyuI will take lots of pictures whilst we are away-Childrens clothes in Paris and Belgravia-lots of gorgeous ideas to inspire.

Leave a Reply

