Craft relief

I’m probably the only person in Australia, with a blog, who hasn’t blogged about the bush fires.  

That’s not because I don’t care – quite the contrary.  We live in Melbourne, so close to the devastation, and have had friends lose everything except that most sacred of things, their lives. The reason I haven’t blogged about this is twofold.  Firstly, I do want this blog to focus on sewing and craft, because it was designed really to be an adjunct to my soon to be launched website, as a means of giving some background to my designs.  Secondly, for personal reasons I have committed myself whole heartedly to one charitable institution – Murdoch Research Institute for research into paediatric stroke (http://www.mcri.edu.au)  When my web is launched, you’ll see that 10% of all of my sales, always, will go towards this very worthy cause. 

That doesn’t mean I don’t want to help other really good causes where I can, because I do.  Infact, I do support to the Heart Research Institute because I know 3 people (Grandpa, Bazza and Rob) who suffered heart problems within about 6 months of each other and received such great care that they are well today.)  All it means is that I do really want to put all my spare money into paediatric research because it is very important to me, and to us all.  

Not wanting to shy away from the bush fire victims, however, I was thrilled when Katrina from Belsize Square (www.belsizesquare.com.au -an online shop selling beautiful fabric) emailed her customers with her terrific plan for Craft Relief.  That is, all of us who love making stuff, are to make something by the end of the month so that those who have lost everything, can own something new, made for them by hand with love from someone who wants to give a little back.  I am so excited, but of course now in a quandary, because I have no idea what to make. I’ll probably lie awake all night tossing around ideas, which also might include a newly designed skirt (which is part of Party Time 2!), but I’d really welcome any suggestions you might have.

In the meantime, I’m still in elephant land, and did want to post these shots of Harriet wearing her new long sleeved elephant top (I couldn’t get away with not making a new one for her). The skirt is Mimi’s handy work, and I’m thinking something long and flowy should be part of Party 3…


PS.  Note the leaves….no, it’s not spring.  It’s summer in Melbourne, with temperatures this year getting so high (47 on bushfire day as an example), that the trees have given in and dropped their leaves about 2 months early.  Not the usual pretty autumn site, because apart from the brown charring, the leaves are still green…And QLD is flooded?
About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

