The B word

Truth be known, there are a number of words beginning with “B” that I don’t like.


Blogging.  I hate that word.  I like blogging, but hate the word.  It sounds self conscious or something.  “I’m a blogger.  I blog.”  Nup, doesn’t work.

Bling.  I hate that word.  I love bling (I have more fake diamonds that you can imagine), but I hate the word.  A bit, well, self righteous?   

Ok, well nomenclature aside, let’s talk about bling.  I’ve been making a Party Time outfit for Anna, one half of the adorable twins previously featured here as models.  Not only do I love doing custom made things, but Anna’s mum Kate let’s me do whatever I want.  I love that. I had my heart set on the grey elephants – it’s just a little left of centre, will work with Anna’s beautiful blue eyes, and pretty sophisticated.  It did, however, need a little….something.

It then dawned on me.  A few months ago I spotted some silver lurex bias binding. I bought it. Didn’t know when I could reasonably use it, given I only use bias in kids’ clothes, but figured that I’d find some terrific fabric that needed a lift.  This was it!  I was a bit hesistant when I retrieved it from the bias box, knowing that Harriet had dragged it around the house a few weeks ago pretending it was a fishing line or dog lead or something, but it was in remarkably pristine condition, so on it went.  I love it….

Having decided to put sparkles on the skirt, I had to put sparkles on the top.  I knew I had some great big silver sequins and tiny gold beads which would be perfect.  It took a while to track down the sequins (Harri had absconded with them last week, my only recollection being her running down the hall saying “they’re not yours.”)  Anyway, found them, sewed them on, and this was the result.


So this is the finished product. I really like it.  I realise grey (let’s call it charcoal, or cloud) is not the most obvious choice for kids, but really that’s part of the appeal (as long as it works).  That follows on from my earlier post about not having to assume pink for girls or blue for boys.  And you know, if it isn’t quite enough, then throw a pink sash around it….

(Once its in Anna’s safe hands, I’ll get some shots to post, and you can see how this will work.)

Just to finish off, I have to add that another word (s) I hate is “Yummy Mummy.”  Ok, so it doesn’t begin with B, but it’s still appalling.  It assumes that if you don’t look hideous once you have had a child, it is some sort of miracle born from expensive clothes and voluminous amounts of makeup.  The reality is, however, that most of us Mums look pretty cool, mainly because we project a sense of happiness, efficiency, control, elegance and style that will override any Red Circle Boutique (read : Target) tracksuit. 

Tiny, I hope you like it.  I hope Anna likes it. And if Hugo likes it, I’ll make him one too!
About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The B word

  1. Calico says:

    I am in tears of wonder. So, so beautiful. Forget Hugo, I want an outfit! Do you make this in a size 12? Just a suggestion. Could you make shorts in fabric like these skirts? because I’m sure little boys would love matching shorts and T shirt. Have to dash- Anna is winding both her brothers up….

  2. Indirose says:

    I love this soph!!Its beautiful, but I cant see the sequins on the shirt :S

  3. lscrude says:

    Gorgeous! I want small kids again to dress up like dolls…- Trish.

Leave a Reply

