Ready to Party!


I’ve worked pretty hard over the weekend, from the half painted tees and cut out fabric I posted on Friday night, to the finished product (8 of them, actually).  It’s pretty rare for me to love something I’ve made first up, but I’m really happy with how “Party Time 1” has turned out. 

The tees are long sleeved for winter, made from a slightly stretchy knit, with a slight puff at the top of the sleeve. The elephant motive has been painted, using a stencil, by hand with fabric paint.  I couldn’t do this on mass, given each one is pretty time consuming (cutting out the stencil, painting, drying, ironing etc), but the beauty of doing it by hand for a limited range is that I’ve been able to colour match the elephant to the precise colour of the skirt.  One or two I’ll have to redo, the paint is a bit thicker than i wanted, but the others have turned out just as I’d hoped.

The tees were inspired really by the fabric I’ve used for the skirts.  The fabric was created by a Japanese designer, and is probably the best fabric that I have worked with.  It is thicker than the usual cotton, sits beautifully, pretty vibrant in its colours and hardly crushes.  I don’t mind fabric which does crush, and I use a lot of soft cottons for kids clothes because the fabric range is great and they are comfie to wear, but it is handy to make 8 skirts and hardly reach for the iron.  Another bonus is that the pink is nice. The truth is I quite like pink, but since my daughter was born 3 years ago, have had a real thing against her wearing it (like that’s worked).  It’s just that I don’t believe girls wardrobes need to be littered with pink, nor boys’ with  blue.  But when a pink like this is created, I breathe easy. 

The skirts have a fully elasticised waist, are full enough to twirl (“spin”), and sit at about the knee.  You can throw them in the machine, probably even tumble dry, though my preference is to hang them up (inside out if its blaring sun) for a crisp finish.  Only a light iron is needed (and if you can’t be bothered with that, you’ll get away with it with this range).
So, then, if you’re in to Stories, you might dig these. If not, you’ll probably find them way too matching.

My daughter loves hers, but then she’s only ever been dressed by me so doesn’t really know any better, poor thing…

PS. thanks to Daddy day care for helping me get so much done.

PPS. I have done 8 outfits in total.  That’s 2 in each of size 1, 2, 3 and 4. In other words, one in each colour and only two of the outfits in each size.  Read : exclusive. Oscar worthy.  If you’re interested, they’ll be available online by end of March.  Earlier?  Drop me a note! 

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ready to Party!

  1. Calico says:

    Could I please reserve one of the size 2 outfits for Darcy? That’s cousin Felicity’s daughter who will be two in April. I think the green would be a great story for her.

  2. In The Round says:

    Would you believe I’ve only done one green (and in fact only one in each of the 8 colours), and its a size 2? It’s put away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

