Paris meets Scandinavia

In my post about Stories, I posted a shot of some gorgeous French inspired fabric I’d hunted down, along with matching trimmings….


Well, a couple of days ago I got the scissors and machine out, whipping that Parisienne magic up into a fabulous bag which I had designed and trialled in calico. After four ours at the machine (including one trying to work out why it was jamming) I had…crap. Really, quite a hideous bag, wrong shape, messy and disastrous. I stayed awake most of the night trying to figure out how I might resurrect it, and came up with a very plain A4 satchel which might never see the light of day.

Another sleepless night later, I had a sewing epiphany, figuring out in my mind at least how to make a big bag that held its shape and was easy to use. I trialled it in some coloured canvas with a gorgeous fuchsia scrap of Marimekko fabric Mum had left at her house for me (*), and came up with this…

I totally love this bag. I’ve been using it for the last few days and it’s functiona, a perfect size for my junk (make up, two purses (?), design sketch pad plus a host of stuff for my little girl), and comfie. I have gathered enough materials to make another four. Those four will be the teal/cloud story, the midnight / water story, the fushcia / berry story and the olive / camel story…you get my drift. They’re also going to have an internal zip pocket and mobile pocket, unlike this one above. I didn’t bother with those things in case it was a disaster like my French friend, but alas it worked.

* My Mum does amazing sewing, but I haven’t seen her use much home decor fabric or Marimekko stuff. I found out tonight that the Marimekko scrap is from a friend’s daughter’s fabric collection, she herself having lost a battle with depression in September last year. She was my age, and it makes me feel very sad to think that I am sewing with her wonderful materials, and not her. But I now love this bag even more, and will think of her and everyone else suffering from a mood disorder when I use it. And for good measure, anyone interested and and cashed up, even only a little, should go to http://www.beyondblue.org.au and make a donation.

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paris meets Scandinavia

  1. Calico says:

    I love the bag, and beyond blue is a great resource. If you can think of something for the bag to be called, I can see if my friend (let’s call her “Gry” who speaks Norwegian and French can come up with a catchy translation for you….

  2. In The Round says:

    That would be great Calico. I’d like something to encapsulate those countries….

  3. lgrierson says:

    That bag is gorgeous, as is everything you create!

Leave a Reply

