In The Round. In the Beginning.

So this is how it all started. About 6 months ago, I had a go at making a wool felt cushion with reserve applique with a “round” theme. I love the colour and texture of wool felt, and I thought a round cushion was a good alternative to the traditional square cushions (which, by the way, I love). I had just come back from seeing my best friend in Canberra, who’d decorated a room with flashes of orange. I spotted this orange/grey/yellow cotton and knew it would be perfect with this Italian pure wool in grey. This is it on her beautiful chair.

I’ve since made about 20 more cushions, in a variety of colours. The best part about these is being able to pick a plainish base material, and then varying fabrics and threads to create a whole variety of cushions. On my facebook site, which is linked to the website http://www.intheround.com.au/ I have photos of what I’ve done so far, but they aren’t great because my camera just won’t catch the cololurs properly. Luckily, that very special friend is also very handy with the camera, and this trip to the Berra she’s going to help me capture them. I’ve only filled a few, the rest are “unstuffed” because I don’t have the room to store 20 filled cushions! Some are wool felt, and some are pure wool. I love them both. (Oh, and this is how the name “intheround” was born).

About Sophie

Living in Melbourne, juggling a day job in medical defence with recious 7 and 1 year olds, and trying as best I can to raise money for research into paediatric stroke.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

